Over time, while working with our Partners, we have identified some who are not properly deleting endpoints which they no longer manage. Some have dragged managed computers into the Deleted folder thinking they are no longer responsible for its license (seat). To properly delete an endpoint, an uninstall task must be performed to release the license. Please use the steps below.
Deleting Endpoints from Network Inventory
The network inventory contains by default the Deleted folder, designated for storing endpoints that you do not plan to manage.
By using the Delete action on an endpoint, it will be moved to the Deleted folder.
To delete endpoints from the network inventory:
1. Go to the Network page
2. In the right-side pane, select the check box corresponding to the endpoint you want to delete.
3. Click the Delete button at the upper side of the table. You will have to confirm your action by clicking Yes.
An Uninstall client task will be created on the Tasks page. The endpoint will be moved under the Deleted folder. If the deleted endpoint was managed, the security agent will be expired, releasing one license seat.
You can at any time move endpoints from the Deleted folder under the Custom Groups, by using drag-and-drop. Furthermore, you can permanently remove deleted endpoints from the network inventory, by also deleting them from the Deleted folder. In this case, the endpoints are removed also from the GravityZone database.
To permanently remove endpoints from the Control Center:
1. Go to the Network page.
2. Select the Deleted group from the left-side pane. All endpoints available in this group are displayed in the right-side pane table.
3. Select the check box corresponding to the endpoints you want to permanently remove.
4. Click the Delete button at the upper side of the table. You will have to confirm your action by clicking Yes.
The selected endpoints are permanently removed from the GravityZone database.